The Ayrshire Hospice is pleased to welcome six new appointments to its Board of Trustees this week.

At the latest meeting of the Board of Trustees on Thursday 10th February Andrew Baillie, Allan Bowie, Marie Gilsenan, Jennifer Porteous, Niven Rennie and Valerie Sim were appointed by Chair John Corrigan.

Left to Right: Allan Bowie, Vice-Chair Elizabeth Morton, Niven Rennie, Jennifer Porteous, Chair John Corrigan, Valerie Sim, Andrew Baillie, Marie Gilsenan.

With the organisation set to embark on a period of major redevelopment over the next 18 months which will enhance the hospice and ensure its legacy for decades to come, the new Trustees join at a very exciting time.

John said: “I am delighted to welcome each of the new trustees to the Ayrshire Hospice Board. 

“The scale and quality of response to our advert for these important posts was overwhelming, demonstrating the ongoing strong connection between the wider community and this much-loved Hospice. 

“Collectively, our new members bring a remarkable breadth of knowledge and experience. Each is passionate about steering the Hospice in a way that ensures our services to those across Ayrshire & Arran living with life limiting illness, and their families, are not only sustained but are enhanced in every possible way. 

“The expanded Board Membership has, so far, only met together once but the vibrancy and positive chemistry of the group was really exciting to be part of. 

“The new members will be offering innovative ideas and approaches to governance. They’ll rightly be questioning why things are currently done in particular ways. It is this type of helpful scrutiny that ensures continuous improvement in all the Ayrshire Hospice does for the people of our communities.”